Liturgical Calendar

                                             LITURGICAL YEAR 2018

Sunday, 3 December 2017: First Sunday of Advent

Friday 8 December 2017: The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Sunday, 10 December 2017: Second Sunday of Advent

Sunday, 17 December 2017: Third Sunday of Advent

Sunday, 24 December 2017: Fourth Sunday of Advent

Monday, 25 December 2017: The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas)

Sunday, 31 December 2017: The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph

Monday, 1 January 2018: Mary, the Holy Mother of God

Saturday, 6 January 2018: The Epiphany of the Lord

Sunday, 7 January 2018: The Baptism of the Lord

Monday, 8 January 2018: First Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 14 January 2018: Second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 21 January 2018: Third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 28 January 2018: Fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Friday, 2 February 2018: The Presentation of the Lord

Sunday, 4 February 2018: Fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 11 February 2018: Sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wednesday, 14 February 2018: Ash Wednesday

Sunday, 18 February 2018: First Sunday of Lent

Sunday, 25 February 2018: Second Sunday of Lent

Sunday, 4 March 2018: Third Sunday of Lent

Sunday, 11 March 2018: Fourth Sunday of Lent

Saturday, 17 March 2018: St Patrick

Sunday, 18 March 2018: Fifth Sunday of Lent

Monday, 19 March 2018: St Joseph

Sunday, 25 March 2018: Palm Sunday of the Lord’s Passion

Thursday, 29 March 2018: Holy Thursday

Friday, 30 March 2018: Good Friday

Saturday, 31 March 2018: Holy Saturday

Sunday, 1 April 2018: Easter Sunday of the Lord’s Resurrection

Sunday, 8 April 2018: Second Sunday of Easter (Divine Mercy Sunday)

Monday, 9 April 2018: The Annunciation of the Lord

Sunday, 15 April 2018: Third Sunday of Easter

Sunday, 22 April 2018: Fourth Sunday of Easter

Sunday, 29 April 2018: Fifth Sunday of Easter

Sunday, 6 May 2018: Sixth Sunday of Easter

Sunday, 13 May 2018: The Ascension of the Lord

Sunday, 20 May 2018: Pentecost Sunday

Monday, 21 May 2018: Seventh Week in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 27 May 2018: The Most Holy Trinity

Sunday, 3 June 2018: The Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)

Friday, 8 June 2018: The Most Sacred Heart of Jesus

Sunday, 10 June 2018: Tenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 17 June 2018: Eleventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 24 June 2018: The Nativity of St John the Baptist

Friday, 29 June 2018: Ss Peter and Paul

Sunday, 1 July 2018: Thirteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 8 July 2018: Fourteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 15 July 2018: Fifteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 22 July 2018: Sixteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 29 July 2018: Seventeenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 5 August 2018: Eighteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Monday, 6 August 2018: The Transfiguration of the Lord

Sunday, 12 August 2018: Nineteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Wednesday, 15 August 2018: The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Sunday, 19 August 2018: Twentieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 26 August 2018: Twenty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 2 September 2018: Twenty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 9 September 2018: Twenty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Friday, 14 September 2018: The Exaltation of the Holy Cross

Sunday, 16 September 2018: Twenty-fourth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 23 September 2018: Twenty-fifth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 30 September 2018: Twenty-sixth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 7 October 2018: Twenty-seventh Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 14 October 2018: Twenty-eighth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 21 October 2018: Twenty-ninth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 28 October 2018: Thirtieth Sunday in Ordinary Time

Thursday, 1 November 2018: All Saints

Friday, 2 November 2018: The Commemoration of All the Faithful Departed (All Souls)

Sunday, 4 November 2018: Thirty-first Sunday in Ordinary Time

Friday, 9 November 2018: The Dedication of the Lateran Basilica

Sunday, 11 November 2018: Thirty-second Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 18 November 2018: Thirty-third Sunday in Ordinary Time

Sunday, 25 November 2018: Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe

Sunday, 2 December 2018: First Sunday of Advent

Saturday 8 December 2018: The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Sunday, 9 December 2018: Second Sunday of Advent

Sunday, 16 December 2018: Third Sunday of Advent

Sunday, 23 December 2018: Fourth Sunday of Advent

Tuesday, 25 December 2018: The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas)

Sunday, 30 December 2018: The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph

Notes for 2018

Lectionary Sunday: Cycle B Weekday: Cycle 2 Weeks in Ordinary Time Before Lent: 6 weeks – ending Tuesday, 13 February After Eastertime beginning Monday, 21 May –7th Week

Holydays of Obligation

The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary –Friday, 8 December 2017 The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas) – Monday, 25 December 2017 The Epiphany of the Lord –Saturday, 6 January 2018 St Patrick –Saturday, 17 March 2018 The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary –Wednesday, 15 August 2018 All Saints –Thursday, 1 November 2018 The Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary –Saturday, 8 December 2018 The Nativity of the Lord (Christmas) –Tuesday, 25 December 2018 All Sundays The Holy Family, The Baptism of the Lord, The Ascension of the Lord, The Most Holy Trinity, The Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi), Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe (Christ the King), are celebrated on Sundays. The Nativity of St John the Baptist (24 June 2018) replaces 12th Sunday in Ordinary Time Days of Prayer World Days of Prayer include: World Day of Peace Monday, 1 January 2018 World Day of Migrants and Refugees Sunday, 14 January 2018 Week of Prayer for Christian Unity begins Thursday, 18 January 2018 World Day for Consecrated Life Friday, 2 February 2018 World Day of the Sick Sunday, 11 February 2018 Day of Prayer for Vocations Sunday, 22 April 2018 World Communications Day Sunday, 13 May 2018 Mission Sunday Sunday, 21 October 2018

More recently several other dates have been designated Days of Prayer, including: International Day of Prayer and Awareness against Human Trafficking Thursday, 8 February 2018 Worldwide Day of Prayer for Survivors and Victims of Sexual Abuse Friday, 16 February 2018 Day of Prayer for the Church in China Thursday, 24 May 2018 World Day of Prayer for the Care of Creation Saturday, 1 September 2018 World Day of the Poor Sunday, 18 November 2018 Additional Days for Ireland: Catholic Schools Week begins Sunday, 28 January 2018 Day of Prayer for Temperance Sunday, 11 February 2018 Special Day of Prayer for Emigrants Saturday, 17 March 2018 Day for Life Sunday, 7 October 2018 Children’s Day of Mission Prayer Friday, 12 October 2018 Prisoners’ Sunday Sunday, 11 November 2018